Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
A1 has a breakaway layup but B1 is closing fast, I've got a great look as A1 shoots and B1 fouls. I hit the whistle and follow the players to the floor. They separate so I look up to see if the shot falls as A2 (for not apparent reason) jumps up and grabs the rim as the ball is clearly inside the cylinder. Waiting, waiting and no whistle from partner so I hit it again and call a conference to discuss. We both agreed that ball was in cylinder and it was A2 grabbing the rim so I wiped the basket.
Since A1 got fouled, I put him at the line with 2 throws. Is that right since it was his teammate that caused the layup to be erased?
|
When I'm saying it's in the cylinder, what I mean is that it's inside the ring. In fact, his grabbing and snapping the rim caused the ball to then pop out. Thanks for the responses.
|
Inside the cylinder and inside the ring are two completely different situations, and are handled as such, according to the rules.
Be that as it may.....
Correct call now is:
- foul by B1 on A1, who was shooting.
- BI
and a "T" on A2. Rule 4-6-4 and rule 10-3-4/CB 10.3.4SitB.
- wipe the basket by A1.
- charge B1 with a personal foul and A2 with a technical foul
- false double foul - handle in the order they occured.
- A1 shoots 2 FT's with the lanes empty.
- Any B player(s) shoot 2 FT at t'other end with the lanes empty.
- Team B gets a throw-in at center opposite the table.
Of course, A2's "T" depends on whether or not someone was underneath him when he grabbed the rim. It didn't sound like it from your description of the play- i.e. you said that A1 and B1 had already separated.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 23rd, 2005 at 06:04 AM]