View Single Post
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 22, 2005, 01:13am
chris s chris s is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally posted by CoachJM
chris s.,

No problem. Here's the rule:

Quote:
"7.05
Each runner including the batter runner may, without liability to be put out, advance_ ...(h) One base, if a ball, pitched to the batter, or thrown by the pitcher from his position on the pitcher's plate to a base to catch a runner, goes into a stand or a bench, or over or through a field fence or backstop. The ball is dead; APPROVED RULING: When a wild pitch or passed ball goes through or by the catcher, or deflects off the catcher, and goes directly into the dugout, stands, above the break, or any area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be one base. One base shall also be awarded if the pitcher while in contact with the rubber, throws to a base, and the throw goes directly into the stands or into any area where the ball is dead. If, however, the pitched or thrown ball goes through or by the catcher or through the fielder, and remains on the playing field, and is subsequently kicked or deflected into the dugout, stands or other area where the ball is dead, the awarding of bases shall be two bases from position of runners at the time of the pitch or throw."
I had forgotten that the "Approved Ruling" clarifying my assertion was included in the text of the rule. I should have just cited the text of the rule rather than a "secondary source" in the first place.

Now, I've got a couple of questions for you (really for any of the umpires on the board).

As you point out, the "exception" I offered in response to Matthew F.'s question doesn't happen very often. Frankly, I can't remember ever witnessing such a "play" in any game I've ever seen. But, let's say it did happen (it certainly could happen).

If I, as the offensive manager, were to appeal your award of 2B for my R1 as insufficient under the rule, what would you do?

If I requested one minute to go get my rulebook from the dugout so that I could show you the rule I thought was being misapplied, would you grant permission?

If you found my appeal unpersuasive and denied my request to reference the rulebook, would you look at a rulebook if I informed you I was protesting based on my belief that you had misapplied the rule?

Now I'm sure that many of the umpires who frequent this board would have ruled correctly in the first place. But I'm guessing that many of you would have ruled as chris s. suggested.

So, be honest. If you didn't know the proper rule on the "exception" I posed, answer the questions. I'm interested in your answers.

JM



JM
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~


Jm, as I said, been away for a while.I am a rule book guru, When did obr add the "kicked, deflected?" Or is this this a J/R interp...that is cool, but where I am at.......J/R evans ....Harry they get snubbed, pathetic cuz I agree with lots of thier sits....but this one, unles we got F3 making another play, not just booting it, I got one sack. My big thing......subsequent play
Reply With Quote