View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2001, 09:53am
Bfair Bfair is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally posted by PeteBooth

    Original Question---
    Runner on 2nd is stealing 3rd, there is catcher interference & the throw goes into leftfield & the run scores.Is the batter still entitled to 1st on the interference by F2?

    [SNIP]

    3. Enforce the CI. In the play being described you would allow the steal of third by r2 and put B1 at first if you were playing by FED rules (FED rule 8-1-1e NOTE:1) If you are playing using OBR, r2 back to second B1 to first. OBR would allow a steal or squeeze involving a play at the plate (Ref 6.08c example 2)


Pete Booth
Pete, here is OBR Rule 7.04:
    Each runner, other than the batter, may without liability to be put out, advance one base when:
    (d) While he is attempting to steal a base, the batter is interfered with by the catcher or any other fielder.

As you can see, if as in the original situation, R2 were stealing 3rd then the batter was interfered with, the runner would be awarded 3rd base and batter 1st base if the penalty for the catcher interference in enforced. This is the SAME as Fed and not different as you state. R2 should not be sent back to 2nd base as you state.

Of course, the offensive coach may elect to take the result of the play instead of enforcing the penalty. I WILL bring that to his attention as an option rather than making him know it. That is preventative officiating.

Just my opinion,

Freix
Reply With Quote