Originally posted by Mark Sanderson
Original Question---
Runner on 2nd is stealing 3rd, there is catcher interference & the throw goes into leftfield & the run scores.Is the batter still entitled to 1st on the interference by F2?
The throw goes into leftfield? I assume the Batter swung and missed the pitch, the catcher
caught it and threw the ball away trying to catch the thieving R2.
In this case the ball would be instantly dead , the Batter is awarded 1st because of the
Interference, and R2 get 3rd because he was attempting to steal.
R2 cannot score on this play.
Not correct. CI or CO (Catcher's Obstruction for FED), is a
Delayed Dead situation as opposed to Immediately Dead By delayed dead - you wait for end of playing action before enforcing.
Here's what the umpire should do when we have CI.
1. Signal and say we have CI and wait for playing action to end.
2. Ask him / herself - Did all runners including BR advance at least 1 base? If the answer is Yes, then CI is ignored and we go no further, however, if the answer is No then
3. Enforce the CI. In the play being described you would allow the steal of third by r2 and put B1 at first if you were playing by FED rules (FED rule 8-1-1e NOTE:1) If you are playing using OBR, r2 back to second B1 to first. OBR would allow a steal or squeeze involving a play at the plate (Ref 6.08c example 2)
Note: Under CI, the coach can take the merits of the play or the CI. This involves a discussion all by itself, because now we can get into the debate as to whether the UIC should give the coach his / her options or not. I'll stay away from that for purposes of this discussion and say that the UIC enforced the CI and will wait to see if coach says something about the options.
The coaches options on this play are: count the run and leave B1 up with whatever count he / she had. or in FED he can have r1/r3 in OBR r1/r2. It's up to the coach. As mentioned as UIC you simply enforce the CI or CO and wait for coach to say something.
R2 cannot score on this play.
R2 can score on this play, remember CI is delayed dead so we do not stop anything until no further action is possible.
As mentioned, the coach might want to score the run and ignor the CI infraction.
Also, such election (whether to take CI penalty or the play), shall be made before the next pitch (legal or illegal), or play.
For your reference, in FED they have an excellent table on pages 34/35 describing situations that are delayed dead vs. immediately dead. It comes in very handy
Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
|