View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2001, 06:57pm
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
The original question was "Runner on 2nd is stealing 3rd, there is catcher interference & the throw goes into leftfield & the run scores. Is the batter still entitled to 1st on the interference by F2?"

The answer was answered above.

The manager has a choice of the play or the interference, but not both. That is, you can't take the run AND have the batter awarded first. One or the other.

That then raised a question as to what happens to the runners if the choice was to take the interference. That was answered. It is somewhat confusing as different rule sets apparently handle it differently - a nopt uncommon happening here in baseball-land.
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote