View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 20, 2005, 08:13am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
Assuming one of the jumpers has already touched the ball in your situtation, "grabbing" the ball is a violation and the ball would be awarded to the other team and I believe the possession arrow would also point opposite the team in violation of the jump ball rule, correct me if I'm wrong.
Consider yourself corrected.

Once the ball touches the floor, a non-jumper or the basket backboard, a jumper can possess the ball.

Also, there's no longer "double jeopardy" on jump ball possessions by a jumper. Opponent gets the ball, offending team gets the arrow.
Reply With Quote