Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
What I want to know:
Does 4-43-2-a(2) describe a "step" only, or does it describe an action that may be a "step or a "jump"?
|
It depends on what you mean by "step" and "jump."
This rule only means what it says -- one foot followed by the other. At the time the "other" foot lands, the "first" foot might still be on the ground (I'm guessing this is your "step") or might now be in the air (I'm guessing this is your "jump").
Either way, the "first" foot is still the pivot foot, and all the pivot foot restrictions apply.
|
Thanks, Bob.
So you believe 4-43-2-a(2) can be either a "jump" or a "step".
But do you feel this rule set seems very awkward if 4-43-2-a(2) allows a "jump"? because:
1. the rule set is supposed to list exhaustively all the possible
foot(or feet) movements that are allowed (while a player is holding the ball). in other word, any foot(feet) movements that are not listed should be considered illegal and any movement that is allowed by one rule should not contradict other applicable rules.
2. the rule explicitly says that the pivot foot may only be lifted AFTER the pivot foot is established. (if there is no pivot foot to be allowed, then foot/feet can be lifted at anytime.)
so it makes me think it is illegal for the will-be pivot foot to be lifted before it is established as the pivot foot. this move (presumably illegal) happens when a player "jumps" in 4-43-2-a(2) scenario.
You will be greatly appreciated if you point out which part of my thought does not make sense?
Thanks.