Quote:
Originally posted by cowbyfan1
This is actually pretty simple people. Fed rule 5-2-1-d: Time will be called when an umpire or player is incapacitated, except that if injury occurs during a live ball, time shall not be called until no further advance or putout is possible. EXCEPTION: If there is a medical emergency or if, in the umpire's judgement, further play could jeopardize the injured players safety, Time shall be called.
In Rut's original case, he saw the catcher hurt, the runner was not going anywhere so calling time is the proper thing. In HHH case, the catcher is laying on the ground at home, obviously severly hurt and a runner heading straight for him. Calling time and sending the runner back to 3rd is that exact thing to do.
In Rut's case, I find it funny the coach had no issue until the following play when he realized he could have scored if his runner had been allowed to go to 2nd or 3rd at the expense of the injured player. If the following batter had flown out or walked there probably would not have been a word said about it.
OBR must say something similiar as that is how Barroa got the inside the park HR at KC the other day.
|
In the inciting play in this thread, R1 was advancing to 2B when the umpire called time.
OBR is similar to the first statement in the FED rule you cited; however, there is no exception similar to the FED exception.