Case Play 8.8-66
(FP Only) R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B, R3 on 1B, R3 advanced to 2B on a passed ball, but R2 does not advance. The pitcher receives the ball in the 8-foot circle from the catcher and the defense makes no play on any runner.
Ruling: R3 is not entitled to 2B and does not make an attempt to get back to 1B. After the pitcher has the ball in the 8-foot circle, time should be called and R3 returned to 1B.
Questions:
1. If the defense makes a play on the runner they would have to tag R3 for her to be put out, correct? They could not throw to 1B.
2. How much time should the umpire give the defense to make a play on the runner?
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
|