View Single Post
  #75 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 08:23pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
You mean to tell me that if a player, after having caught the ball by the basket, first lands on the "red" foot right, jumps 2-3 feet straight up (as if to shoot but realizes B will block it), then lands in essentially the same spot on the "green" foot, you're going to allow it?
Honestly, I did not envision a play the way you're describing it.

Quote:
If they're "stepping" as in a layup and both feet are momentarily off the ground, that is fine, but a step is not the same as a jump.
How are you going to adjudicate that? How are you going to tell a coach, "No, coach, his pivot never came down. But it's a travel anyway"? How are we to distinguish between a step when both feet are momentarily off the ground and a jump when both feet are momentarily off the ground?

By the height of the step?
By the direction of the step?
By the intent of the stepper?

I just don't see how you're supposed to split that hair. If the pivot foot does not come down, then it's not a travel, IMHO.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote