View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 08:10pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Re: Re: Re: Ummm

Quote:
Originally posted by PGCougar
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
... She could end her dribble and then do something illegal, such as travel, or a carry or a double dribble.
I know I'm nit-picking but... can you carry after you've ended your dribble?
Yes. You can only carry after you've ended the first dribble. A carry is just a special case of the illegal (double) dribble or the travel rule.

To carry, you must end the first dribble by briefly catching the ball and then start a new dribble. If the action which starts the carry is not followed by another dribble, it is not a violation, it is only the end of the first dribble.

It just all happens so much faster than a plain double dribble that it confused people to call them the same.

The NFHS actually tried to combine the call with the illegal dribble (or traveling depending on the specifics) call a few years ago but it only created confusion.

[Edited by Camron Rust on May 16th, 2005 at 09:12 PM]
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote