View Single Post
  #64 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 16, 2005, 11:04am
SeanFitzRef SeanFitzRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pflugerville, TX
Posts: 293
Send a message via Yahoo to SeanFitzRef
Talking

Quote:
This is very important to me. I have to make it very clear.

in 4-43-2:

"ART. 2 . . . A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
...
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch is the pivot."

I thought it described a "step". but you are saying it can be a "jump" too.

So, after catching the ball in mid air, a player can land with one foot and jump right off it, then land on the other foot and jump off it again to shoot. you believe it is perfectly legal. Do I understand you correctly?

Thanks.



[/B]
Had a play this weekend, kid catches a pass on the wing, near the three point line with his left foot on the floor, takes two running steps (right, left) into the paint and passes to a teammate on the other side of the basket. I call a travel, and the coach wants to argue. I simply ask the coach "how many times did the kid dribble before he passed the ball?" He left it alone after that.
It wasn't a travel until the left foot hit again, if my interpretation of the rule is correct. It doesn't have to be this big ginormous step to be a travel. (yes, I used a made up word for emphasis)
__________________
Nature gave men two ends - one to sit on and one to think with. Ever since then man's success or failure has been dependent on the one he used most.
-- George R. Kirkpatrick
Reply With Quote