Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
I believe you have no problems with C, right? So what makes C a legal move? 
Thanks.
|
Actually, I haven't weighed in on C before now.
Under NCAA rules, here are the legal actions when you catch the ball with both feet off the ground:
4-66. Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot.
It seems that your situation C falls under 4-66.3.a.2, so it's legal. Note that your sitation D doesn't fall under any of these, which is why it's not legal.
|
I believe 3.a.2 describes a "step", i,e, both feet touch the floor when the 2nd foot lands. It is not a jump.
But in C, it is a jump. so C does not fit 3.a.2.
I think the closest one is 3.a.3. When it says both feet MAY (not MUST) land simultaneously, it does not forbid landing with one foot only. (but the other foot can not land after that.)
If this theory is true, then both C and D are legal.
Thanks.
|
The key word there in that last sentence is "theory." Folks are telling you what's legal, and what's not. The books aren't written in the best possible way, so when people like Mick and Camron and Chuck who have years and years of experience being rules interpreters, and trainers, and teachers tell you that this one is legal and that one isn't, you need to listen to them, not try to read your own interp into the book wording. If your association interprets travelling differently than folks on this board do, then go talk to your assoc people, but don't argue here with people who know what they're talking about.