View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 07:35pm
Lotto Lotto is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong

I believe you have no problems with C, right? So what makes C a legal move?

Thanks.
Actually, I haven't weighed in on C before now.

Under NCAA rules, here are the legal actions when you catch the ball with both feet off the ground:

4-66. Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot.

It seems that your situation C falls under 4-66.3.a.2, so it's legal. Note that your sitation D doesn't fall under any of these, which is why it's not legal.
Reply With Quote