View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 04:53pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
OK, how about this:
2 on 1 break, A1 passes to A2 who catches the ball in midair, lands on left foot which is now the pivot,
If the left is the pivot and the player jumps off of the left foot. Then, then next foot down is a travel.
If you catch the ball in the air and touch the ground with your left foot, the left foot is NOT the pivot foot at that point. It only becomes the pivot if/when the right foot touches the ground.

This may seem like a small point. But if the left foot became the pivot when it touched the ground, then the jump-stop would not be legal. The whole reason that the jump-stop is legal is that no pivot foot has been established when the player jumps off that one foot.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote