View Single Post
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 04:36pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
The question to be asked is really "was it a jump or a step?" That is a judgement the official must make. In a layup, it is quite clearly a step.
I hope you don't mind that I challenge your point here.

I believe there are 4 ways and only the following 4 ways to do a legal lay-up:

While moving, at the moment a player catches the ball, (either with one hand or with two hands, either from a pass or from a dribble),

A) one of his foot (foot #1) touches the floor, then foot #2 touches the floor, then foot #1 leaves the floor, then foot #2 leaves the floor, ball is gone, foot (feet) back to the floor. this is the step-jump-shoot sequence.

B)gets the ball when foot #1 on the floor, then foot #1 off the floor, foot #2 back to floor, foot #2 off the floor, ball gone, foot (feet) back to floor. this is the jump-jump-shoot sequence.

C)gets the ball when both feet off the floor, then foot #1 back to floor, foot #1 off the floor, foot #2 back to floor, foot #2 off the floor, ball gone, foot(feet) back to floor. This is the land-jump-jump-shoot sequence, with alternate "footings".

D)gets the ball when both feet off the floor, then foot #1 back to floor, foot #1 off the floor, foot #1 back to floor again(!), foot #1 off the floor, ball gone, foot (feet) back to the floor. this is the land-jump-jump-shoot sequence, with the same footing.

(if a player gets the ball while two feet on the floor, even when he is walking, then he is not allowed to do a lay-up. also there are no other ways to do "lay-ups")

I "claim" all the above 4 lay-ups are legal.

Do you think my claim is correct?

thanks.

If in B, the player jumps from foot #1, it is a travel when they land unless they land on both feet simultaneously. If they're stepping (as is normally the case) they haven't jumped and therefore it would be legal for foot 2 to come down.

C is the same as B.

D is a travel unless foot #1 and foot #2 come back to the floor tegether.

The travling rule prescribes what is allowed. Jumping and landing on one foot is never allowed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote