View Single Post
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 13, 2005, 04:31pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by ysong
Quote:
Originally posted by lukealex
OK, how about this:
2 on 1 break, A1 passes to A2 who catches the ball in midair, lands on left foot which is now the pivot, lifts (jumps, steps, leg falls off below the knee, etc.) left foot, right foot lands, jumps of right foot for a layup.

Legal

Same thing, 2 on 1 break, A1 passes to A2 who catches the ball with left foot already on floor. Same thing happens, lifts left foot, right foot lands, jumps of right, layup.

Legal

The same rule is applied to both situations, just a different situation which in fact the exact same thing happens.
No doubt, both cases are legal.

Incorrect. #1 is a travel. #2 may be but your example was incomplete.

If the left is the pivot and the player jumps off of the left foot. Then, then next foot down is a travel. The ONLY time a player can jump and land legally is when they've not established the pivot foot at all. And then, they must come down with both feet together.

It depends on whether the action is a jump or a step. A player with the left foot as the pivot can only step with the right foot. But once they jump, they can't land without traveling.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote