View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 31, 2001, 10:09am
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Originally posted by mick

Last night. Adult OBR. R1 (1b) 1 out. I'm in B

Ground ball to F6 throws to F4 ... Out!
I turn to see wild throw to F3 ... Safe!

PU, who followed through on R1 to 2b yells "Interference, batter's Out!"

PU explains double play, (I didn't hear the conversation). Pitcher walks onto field for the new 1/2 inning shaking his head.

OBR 7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when_
(g) If, in the judgment of the umpire, a base runner willfully and deliberately interferes with a batted ball or a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball with the obvious intent to break up a double play, the ball is dead. The umpire shall call the runner out for interference and also call out the batter runner because of the action of his teammate.

Mick you said adult league playing under OBR rules. Using OBR, one rarely if ever sees an umpire ring up 2 because of the terms willfully and deliberately Remember the Reggie Jackson play in the World Series many years back.

If this game were played under FED rules, it's easier to understand as in FED, the terms willfully and deliberately are omitted.

The PU must have ruled that r1 willfully and deliberately interfered with F4 with obvious intent to break up DP.

Pete Booth
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote