View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 11:02pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
It is pretty clear to me that the defensive team appealed that the runner who returned to 3B did not touch home on his way back, and thus should be ruled out, game over, appealing team wins.

It is also pretty clear that J/R says that when he returned to 3B, if he was within a body's length of home when he passed it, this was close enough. And from the original post it sounded like he was within a body's length, so appeal from the defensive team should be denied. J/R gives examples of plays where close enough, is close enough, and also plays where missing by a large margin is cause for successful appeal. Whether J/R is correct or not is certainly a subject for debate, but given no other authoritive opinion that is well recognized then we have to go with what we can find in print.

Reply With Quote