View Single Post
  #44 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 08:57pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Ah, but the rule change stated the rule was "Clarified that in order for a player to establish legal guarding position, both feet must be touching the "playing court."

Setting a screen has nothing to do with legal guarding position.

Further, just because there's contact, it doesn't mean there's a foul. So I would agree with Camron that it's not automatically a foul.
Of course, the official can no-call it if he didn't think it was a foul. That wasn't what I was talking about. Let me be a little more specific then:

If a foul is called when the defender is standing OOB when the contact occured, is there ever a case when the foul would not on the defender? I'm not talking about flagrant fouls, unsporting acts- or anything like that. Just the normal block/charge call.

That's what I was wondering.
Reply With Quote