View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 07, 2005, 06:36am
jicecone jicecone is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,716
Quote:
Originally posted by akalsey
Quote:
the protest was that he should have to tag home on his way back
No, the umpire called him out because he DIDN'T touch home on his way back. The offensive team is protesting that this is an incorrect call.

From the description (the player was headed back to the home dugout) it sounds as if the player headed in a direct line back to third from wherever he was standing, bypassing home plate and perhaps not even entering the general vicinity of home.

With the limited information given about the location of the player prior to returning to third, and the fact that the protester admits his runner did not retouch home plate, there is not enough evidence to rule that the umpire incorrectly applied the rules. Protest denied.
Incorrect, its PROTEST DENIED.
Reply With Quote