Quote:
Originally posted by jritchie
|
Here is what I don't understand about this new rule though....
Sitch--Team A on offense, A2 is passing to A1 as A1 is coming off of a screen in the lane. B1, to avoid the screen, runs OOB by let's say, 3 feet. B1 then comes back in-bounds and:
A) steals the ball as the pass is going to A1, whom he was guarding;
B) A1 receives the pass and B1 continues to guard A1 after returning in-bounds.
What does everyone have in these two sitches? [/B][/QUOTE]
Situation A, probably have to call a violation for running out of bounds, espcecially if it helped them to get in position for the steal!!!!
situation b, myself i probably have nothing...but they still want us to call it, even though no advantage was gained...this is the part i don't see.... if no advantage gained on the play i don't think we need to worry about it!!
[/B][/QUOTE]
Jritch,
That's exactly what I was thinking. In sitch B, the rule seems to mandate a violation called. Because of such, I could definitely see an official calling the violation on Team B as A1 is blowing by B1 to the hoop for a layup....I'd like to see that one explained to a coach.