Quote:
Originally posted by streamdoc
What if the umpire runs into the catcher while she attempting to field a throw with a runner coming into score? You can't assume an out, but in my scenario, the plate umpire definately prevented the catcher from catching the ball - leading to the ball getting by the catcher, and the runner being safe. Would the runner(s) be placed back on the bag that they started from? If so, would this be the bag they occupied at the time of the pitch, or the last legally touched base?
|
This was a casebook play last year in either ASA or NFHS, I am not sure which. But to answer your question, what you would have would be a bunch of ugliness, but the play would stand as it occurred. The umpire is just part of the playing field in this instance.