There may be those that disagree with me, but let's assume it wasn't a force out at the plate. From your description of the tag, the catcher was "holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" at the time of touching the runner with the "glove holding the ball". At that exact instant, the runner was "Out" due to the tag. The ball did not become loose until AFTER the runner was "touched".
Similar to those arguments of "Hey, blue! The 1st baseman pulled his foot!" No fielder is obligated to hold his foot on a base for an "Out" to occur. It's that instantaneous action that creates the Out. The same is true on a Tag Out. The instant the runner is touched is when the Out occurs. Provided the catcher had full control of the ball at that time, you've got an Out.
You might have to sell it . . . but that's the Rule.
Jerry
|