View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 28, 2005, 05:00pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally posted by brandan89
I like them, but have a question.

What do they mean in rule 7-5-9, 6-4-3g, 4-36 New:
Changed the penalty for double personal, double technical and simultaneous fouls from an alternating possession throw-in to resuming play from the point of interruption. A new definition for “point of interruption” was also added.

I understand it for the most part, just not by the whole "point of interruption" what is that? Thanks
I believe that they mean the penalty for a double foul, etc. now will be to charge both players with the foul (as before) and put the ball back into play at the point of interruption rather than going to the arrow. For example, A is on offense when A2 and B2 are going at it in the post. The official calls the double foul, and gives the ball back to A (since they had it at the POI) for a throw-in. I'm guess that you'd throw in from the spot nearest the where the ball was at the time of the foul call, rather than at the spot nearest the foul.

__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote