Thread: Strike Zone
View Single Post
Old Mon Apr 25, 2005, 10:15pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by Stripes1950
This could be just be a local issue but maybe some of you around the country can help me. I tend to call a true strike zone in HS ball. I will not give the P a strike 3 inches off the plate. Some of my partners do. They seem to think it speeds the game up. I don't think that it is fair to the batter. I also call a strike at the batter's midsection (letters?) which coaches seem to think is high. Do I have to adjust? Could use some imput. By the way, I have been umpiring HS for about 20 years and the complaining has just started this year.

If you have been calling this way for 20 years, why has the complaining just started? Have you moved from one part of the county to another? If any part of the part of the ball just nicks the white part of the plate inside or outside it's a strike. If any part of the ball nicks the bottom of the knee, it's a strike. High is a bit difficult since a lot of HS coaches and players think anything above the belt is high, but it's not really too high until it gets above a line about 6 inches above the belt. A pitch over the plate just below the elbows of a batter with a normal stance is generally a pitch to be hammered, so it should be called a strike.