In order to rule upon backcourt violations (9-9), you need intimate knowledge of Rule 4-4 (Ball Location) and Rule 4-12 (Player/Team Control).
In both of your scenarios, the ball never achieved frontcourt status because of Rule 4-4-1:
"A ball which is in contact with a player or with the court is in the backcourt if either
the ball or the player (either player if the ball is touching more than one) is touching
the backcourt."
Thus, no violation (but the 10-second count should continue).
I was also not certain if ball position was important, i.e., breaking the plane completely as in soccer, regardless of whether it touches the floor.
This is all covered in Rule 4-4. Briefly, a ball touching a player or official has the same as if the ball had been touching the court at that location. Also, a ball in flight retains the same location as when it last touched a player or the floor. Finally, "During a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt, the ball is in the frontcourt when the ball and both feet of the dribbler touch the court entirely in the frontcourt." (4-4-6)
As an aside, is there a source of interpretive guidance available for coaches, players, and referees? I regularly review my rulebook, but that is merely a starting place. This site has great guidance on some topics, but is not comprehensive.
Hopefully, you have the NF Case Book which goes along with the Rule Book. That's certainly required reading. That plus the Rule Book should cover 99+% of the calls you'll see in a game. Other than that, the officials need to cobble the best ruling possible based on the existing rules and the spirit and intent of those rules.
This board and the one at
www.gmcgriff.com/refonline are great resources if you're confused or uncertain about a particular play or ruling.
It certainly is nice to see a coach taking an interest in learning the actual rules (instead of the ones they make up during a game that'd help their team), and i applaud you for it...