View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 17, 2005, 08:16pm
wadeintothem wadeintothem is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sierra Nevada Mtns
Posts: 3,220
ASA&FED - contact is not necessary - interferring with a fielder executing a play (confusing, hindering, etc) verbally or physically is interference - this call could be justified if the umpire judged that the actions of the runner caused the fielder to take the easy out at 1b instead of getting the lead runner.. but if the fielder fielded the ball cleanly and chose to go to 1b (often what is done anyway) - it could have then been a bad call (which would probably be due to a lack of understanding of the rule). "Getting to close" is not interference.. it could be; but isnt necessarily interference. This is a HTBT play IMO.. and even if we were there, is entirely the judgement of the ump making the call.
__________________
ASA, NCAA, NFHS
Reply With Quote