View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2005, 11:35pm
whiskers_ump whiskers_ump is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
Ground ball is bobbled by F6, R1 advancing from 2B to 3B. R1 goes outside the 3' allowance to avoid a tag, but is tagged anyway by the glove. But - the ball is in F6's other hand.

OK, so we don't have a tag out. But will you call an out for running outside the base path to avoid what is not a legal tag?

I would say "out" by your statement R1 goes outside 3' allowance
to avoid a tag, so fielder has the ball, runners bathpath is established.

glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote