View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 13, 2005, 06:02pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,505
Quote:
Originally posted by mcrowder
That's a good point, and this is a very HTBT play. If the runner was slanting away from the fielder to avoid interfering with them making a play BEFORE the fielder had the ball and was starting to try for a tag, I can see giving them the benefit of the doubt, especially absent some other dodging type move to avoid a tag.

Speaking ASA

Cannot happen. For the purpose of this rule, the runner's basepath is not defined until a defensive player has the ball and is attempting to tag that runner out.

If the defender is attempting to field a batted ball, the basepath cannot be established until they actually possess the ball and make the attempt. Up to this point, the runner may alter their route as they choose without penalty.



__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote