View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 11, 2005, 10:38pm
emaxos emaxos is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 106
As I re-read the governing NCAA rule, I don't see where it matters if the pitcher has started her motion or not.
Quote:
a. Pitcher.The pitcher is considered to be in the pitching position when with her hands apart, she steps forward, puts both feet on the pitcher’s plate and the catcher is in position to receive the pitch. The pitcher may
not take the pitching position on the pitcher’s plate without being in possession of the ball, and she may not simulate the pitching position, with or without the ball, when near the pitcher’s plate.

b. Catcher. The catcher must be within the catcher’s box from the time the pitcher steps on the pitcher’s plate until the pitch is released. No part of the catcher’s feet may be outside the lines until the pitch is released.
EFFECT (a)-(c)—Illegal pitch (see Rule 10-8).
However, bringing the hands together is part of the pitching motion so either way, this one was an Illegal Pitch (IMO).
Does the "HM1" indicate Navy Hospital Corpsman First Class? If so, nice to see another swabbie on here. If not, you're plagiarizing!!
__________________
MCPO(SW) USN(Ret.)
Softball Addict
Mississippi Gulf Coast
Reply With Quote