This would be an illegal pitch if the catcher actually stepped out of the catchers box. But, I have never seen that happen in softball, due to the size of the catchers box. I can only assume either this was a one in a million case, or the catchers box wasn't properly drawn, as it extends to outside of both batters boxes. Easily a catcher can stand behind the opposite batters box and reach out even further for an intentional walk.
As a base umpire, I would never call that, either. It is obviously (to me) the plate umpires call.
|