View Single Post
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 10:06pm
mick mick is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by stowne
During the course of play runners can advance at own risk. At what time is the play over, forcing the runners to return to their claimed base?
A) When the pitcher touches the rubber, or
b) When the pitcher enters the pitching circle (10')

This is not a quiz, there are many answers to the general question, I just need to know which of the two given answers is true.

Thank You, Steve
Steve,
In your sitch, a player off a base is not compelled to advance or to return to a base unless you have local rules in place to avoid such tactics.

If the runner refuses to move and the pitcher refuses to make a play on that runner, then call "time" and send the runner back to his previous bag.

If it happens again. Call "Time", send that runner back, call both managers together and tell them stop that posturing in order to keep the game moving. Short of that go to 9.01.d (Unsporting act)

mick
Reply With Quote