Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Did the refs signal a 3? If not, I don't think this is fixable. A scoretable error is, (I mean, if they wrote in 2 instead of 3), but not under 2-10. Is the correctable error rule different in college than hs? In high school, this isn't a correctable error. The coach can't go to the table for this, and there's no "charged or not-charged a time-out". But it is fixable up to the time the book is signed off, and the refs are off the court. ... if the refs had signalled a 3. If they thought it was a 2, then it's just too bad for that team.
It would definitely be wrong in hs to stop play, especially when the opponent has the ball! I guess even the best refs (and Melissa Barlow is definitely one of the best!!) can make mistakes once in a while.
|
rainmaker, this is a correctable error in HS.
Officials indicating a 2 (by lack of a signal) and it should have been a 3 is no different than indicating a 3 when it should be a 2. It's erronesouly counting a score. This is correctable until the next dead ball becomes live. Of course, the officials can't use any media for determining it...but only consulting each other. Perhaps they just goofed and didn't signal.
The scorebook error is when the official indicates 2 and the scorer records 3 (and vice versa)...fixable until the final score is approved.
I'm for stopping play ASAP for a potential correctable error (but not when either team is actively attacking). If the other team is walking it up the court or passing back and forth 30' from the basket....I'll stop the play. The longer you delay once you know there might be an error, the less likely you'll be able to get it right. It might be 5 minutes before there is another dead ball.
|
Camron, did you see the play on Tuesday evening? The ref whistled it dead right in the middle of the opponent's play. They weren't actively attacking, but they were trying to do something.
|
No...didn't watch the game. Not particularly interested. Didn't even know it was on.
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Also, I don't understand what you say about a ref signalling or not signalling a 3-point shot. You said, "indicating a 2 (by lack of a signal) and it should have been a 3 is no different than indicating a 3 when it should be a 2." What does "should have been" mean? If the refs didn't signal, doesn't that mean it wasn't a 3? That's in effect a no-call, right? Can the coach stop the game to argue a no-call? I don't understand your point here.
|
If the refs didn't signal, it means they didn't count it as a 3. If it is addressed before the correctable error time has expired, they can correct the score.
It's possible one ref saw it was a three (but out of their primary) and didn't signal thinking that their partner(s) had it covered. But, for some reason, they didn't have it covered. It's a correctable error.
Since there is no such think as a no-call in the rule book that is not what is being questioned. They can, however, question if a shot was counted correctly. Usually, this doesn't happen when the opponent has the ball but there's nothing prohibiting an official from stopping the game at any point to rectify an error. The scorers are instructed to delay signaling the official until the other team loses the ball however.