View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 07, 2005, 08:56am
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
This is totally the scorekeeper's decision (and not the parents! ). What you have to ask yourself is --- with normal effort from the RF, would this have been an out. If you say no, it's a hit. If you say yes, it's an error.

If you say "Maybe", I'd err on the side of calling it a hit, not an error.

You'll see this even in smallball with an infielder occasionally ... say a dribbler to thirdbase. F5 charges, barehands, and bobbles. With "normal" effort, the scorekeeper rules there was not a likely out, so this is an infield hit, and not an error on F5.
Reply With Quote