Quote:
Originally posted by scyguy
ok, improper batter deals with batting out of order correct? 7 hole (Davis) bats for 6 hole (Jones), Davis reaches base, 6 hole (Jones)comes to plate, defensive team appeals before first pitch to Jones. Jones is declared out and Davis is removed from first and is the new batter.
My DH scenario is: DH bats in first, reaches base, PR (not defensive player) come in to run. Third inning DH comes to plate (he has in effect re-entered). He gets on base and PR comes in. At this point original DH is done. This second PR is now to DH of record. Jump to the 5 inning when the original DH comes back to bat. Now, I know he is illegal. Do I call him out when he takes his place in the battter's box?
|
You could call him out, or you could simply tell the coach he's illegal when he comes to sub him in.
If the coach doesn't sub him in, since in FED the PU is responsible for keeping up with subs, I would just go to him and ask.
Coach you want to put in Jones but he's not legal.
I guess some umpires would go ahead and wait and call him out, but I like to be proactive and take care of these things before they happen.
Thanks
David