View Single Post
  #37 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2005, 04:04pm
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by rhsc
Quote:
Originally posted by Ranger23
Therefore they must return to first,
Whoa, that sounds too much like your gonna give it to them. Everything Im hereing and trying to understand is(as you later said) let it play out. How long do you wait though, if your not supposed to allow a pitch? I need to know this, itll happen to me this weekend. Can you feel the panic?
No need to panic. Speaking ASA, the interpretation is clear. Once the pitcher has the ball in the circle, and in your judgment the defense is not going to make a play on the runner, call TIME and place the runner back on the base she belongs on (1B in this case). If the coach questions your ruling, sound like you know what you just did by saying, "Coach, ASA Case Play 8-8.66 addresses this same situation. I cannot allow a pitch to proceed with two runners on the same base. I cannot call the runner out since the defense declined to make a play. Therefore, I am suspending play and directing the runner back to her base."
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote