View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 28, 2005, 11:44am
AtlUmpSteve AtlUmpSteve is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
As others have eloquently stated, the LBR is, of course, in affect, because the pitcher has the ball in the circle and is not making a play. But, no runner can be declared out under the LBR while standing on a base! In fact, the exact opposite is true; if, after stopping on the base, the runner leaves for any reason, he/she is out. That means if he/she stays, they are SAFE. You cannot selectively infer a required entitlement to that base, or else, as I previously posted, you would be required to call a LBR violation after missed bases or leaving too early on a caught fly ball, etc. You cannot call an out based on 2 runners occupying the same base, as the defense has rejected the required remedy of tagging the runners.

So, HM1 Hammonds asks what rule can allow you to call time and return the runner to 1B. Let me put it back to you! You have 2 runners on 2B, and a runner on 3B. The ball is in the circle, in the possession of the pitcher. The pitcher and the defensive team are not making a play, and it is clear they will not. The offense will NOT step off the base, because, to do so, generates an out. You are the plate umpire, and, by rule, so far, cannot call an out. You also know, you cannot allow the batter to step in the box and the pitcher to pitch with 2 runners on 2B.

Forget for the moment your desire to call an out; that is not an option. What would/could you (HM1, or anyone else) do, other than the remedy stated by others, and as newly stated in the 2005 Case Book?

[Edited by AtlUmpSteve on Mar 28th, 2005 at 11:47 AM]
Reply With Quote