Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
"It begs the question: Can an obstructed runner be put out between the bases where she was obstructed?
Is the answer a categorical "No!" -or- "No, unless she missed a base or left a base early."?
Do you have any books David? Both ASA and NFHS have FIVE exceptions to the "cannot be put out between bases" rule.
a - reached base she would have been awarded; then after a subsequent play on a different runner, she is put out trying to advance.
b - properly appealed for missing a base
c - propperly appealed for leaving early
d - committing a act of interference
f - passing another runner.
WMB
|
Well then, that would answer the question then - wouldn't it! [g]
You have to admit, the plays
are somewhat unusual. You will go many games before having to address either of these issues. This is where knowing the rules is very helpful ... kind of like batting-out-of-order situations. The rules are clear, the chance to "practice" implementing those rules are rare.
David Emerling
Memphis, TN