Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling
I was watching my daughters games today in a high school tournament and two unusual plays occurred.
Play #1: International Tie Breaker. R1 & R2. Two outs. Catcher picks off R1 to end the inning. WHO is the runner at 2nd to begin the next inning for this team?
|
The runner placed on 2nd in the next offensive inning for this team will be the PLAYER who immediately precedes the batter who was in the box at the time of the pick-off
Quote:
Play #2: R2, 1 out. Shot hit out to left field. R2 is off on contact, assuming it will drop. F7 makes a great catch. R2 was obstructed by F6 during her initial advance. R2 is rounding 3rd when the ball is caught and the return throw easily doubles her up. The umpires called her out claiming, "She would've been out anyway." Really?
|
On what base did R2 begin this play? Nevermind, doesn't make any difference. The call is correct. If anything, the obstruction would have benefitted the runner, not hurt her.
BTW, I don't think most umpires would consider these unusual plays.
[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Mar 27th, 2005 at 09:35 AM]