Quote:
Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
I've seen offensive players cause the ball to come out after it was in the net twice this year--once in an NBA game and once in an NCAA game. Both times the players were swinging on the rim and the ball hit a head/shoulder before going completely through and rebounded straight back up and out. Both times the officials caught it too, and ruled no basket.
|
Not having seen the play in question, I'm curious about the "call" aspect of making this call. It sounds like there was a whistle on this play? If so, and it's not BI, then why would there be a whistle? If it's simply a matter of no basket because the ball didn't go all the way through, then doesn't it matter a lot whether or not the call was offensive BI? In addition to canceling the bucket, BI awards the ball to the other team. I must be missing something 
In the instances you mention, how did the officials announce their rulings? With a whistle? With a wave off gesture and a "play on?"
|
In the plays above, BI was called in both of them because of physical contact with the ball while the ball was inside the net. The proper procedure with offensive BI is a whistle and a spot throw-in. You're right in that if BI is not called because the ball just spun back up and out without being touched, then there shouldn't be a whistle--- unless there might be some confusion by the scorer as to whether to count the basket or not. In that case, it's not a bad idea to make absolutely sure that the scorer gets it right.