View Single Post
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 26, 2005, 11:57am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Re: LBR does apply

Quote:
Originally posted by HM1 Hammonds
Here is food for thought....
R3 is not entitled to 2B. As a result of LBR, R1 and R2 committed to their respective entitled base. R3 is obligated to return to 1B in a reasonable time period. R3 is called out and play resumes.
R3 can not legally advance on the play as described and Rule 8.7T can be enforced.
Speaking ASA.

#1. Please show me in 8.7.T where is says the runner must be on THE base to which they are entitled.

#2. Rule 8.3 states that when two runners occupy the same base, the runner not entitled is out when touched with the ball. Therefore, to put the runner out, the defense must tag them off the base to which they ARE entitled. However, to do so, would constitute a play on the runner.

#3. Casebook 8.8.66 supports calling time and returning the runner to 1B.


__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote