Quote:
Originally posted by MA Softball Ump
There is a difference between ASA and FED on this:
NFHS Rule 7-2 ..."A batter shall not hit the ball fair or foul while either foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batter's box or while touching the plate..." (exception: follow through after hitting the ball is o.k.) 2005 Rules p. 56 Ball Dead imediately - runners return to base.
ASA Rule 7-6D ...[batter is out] When an entire foot is touching the ground completely outside the lines of the batters box when the ball makes contact with the bat" (no problem if bat does not make contact with ball). 2005 Rules p.100 Ball is dead imediately and runners return to base.
Hope this helped!
|
Need some more clarification. I understand the ruling that if a foot is completely outside the batters box and contact is made, we have an out. However, the situation I'm talking about is when a batter leaves the batters box illegally and then re-enters the box. It both feet are inside the box when he makes contact we have an out. This is based on the sited rule (7-6-F). So my question still stands. What defines leaving the box? Both feet completely outside the lines? One foot completely outside the lines?
Maybe some examples will help.
Situation A:
B1 starts out with both feet inside the batters box. He then places his front foot completely outside the batters box without requesting time. Has he left the batters box?
He then replaces his front foot in the box and hits the pitch. Time was never granted. Do we have an out?
Situation B:
B1 starts out with both feet inside the batters box. He then places his front foot so that some portion but not all is outside the batters box without requesting time. Has he left the batters box? He then replaces his front foot in the box and hits the pitch. Time was never granted. Do we have an out?
Thanks!
Randall