View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2001, 01:26pm
Stripes130 Stripes130 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 35
Please tell me what I am misunderstanding here:
RULE BOOK states: (Rule 8 ART 3) During a free throw when the lane spaces may be occupied: a. Each of the lane spaces adjacent to the end line shall be occupied by one opponent of the free thrower unless the resuming of play procedure is in effect.
b. A teammate of the free thrower is entitled to the next adjacent lane space on each side and to each other alternate position along each lane line.
This is hard to draw a picture but here's a try:
B1 B2
A1 A2
B3 B4
A4 A5
--------
A3 (B5 would be beyond the 3pt line/FT line extended)
CASE BOOK states8.1.2A) "Rule 8-1 CLEARLY states which lane spaces must be occupied (and by whom) and also states who is entitled to occupy the remaining lane spaces .........each of the first marked spaces nearest the end line shall be occupied by one opponent of the free thrower. ..........A teammate of the free thrower is entitled to the next adjacentmarked lane space on each side and to ONE OF THE TWO additioal marked spaces along each lane line. So that would look like:
B1 B2
A1 A2
B3 B4
A2 B5
---------
A3 (A5 would be beyond 3pt/FT line) Who the heck has the priority?
Reply With Quote