Quote:
	
	
		| Originally posted by bob jenkins 
 
	While there was no contact, F4 / F6 (whoever it was) was required to make "a great play avoiding physical contact".  As I read the play, I'm envisioning that the runner is who caused this action, so I have the FPSR violation and the DP.Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by cbfoulds OK, R didn't  "run away", but I see nothing in 8-4-2b  which, absent a slide, requires him to do anything other than avoiding  "illegal contact" or "illegally alter(ing)"  the fielder's actions.  We know there was no contact at all in this [Sitch 3] play.  Thus my question: what makes coming in upright, with no contact, "illegal", so as to invoke the penal strictures  of the FPSR?
 
 
 |  
 
 | 
	
 I'll start off with admiting that you [and gordon]  are probably, almost certainly right: FPSR violation is how they want us to call this in FED [if being pegged by the ball can be a FPSR violation, this certainly can be].  So I'll start adjusting my thinking, in order to call this correctly if it happens in one of my games.  I can see it being a hard sell to coaches.
However, I do think this is moving us very close to "must slide" [must evaporate, actually]; and makes the word "illegally", in 
"illegally alters ..."  the fielder's play, redundant and meaningless.  Under this interpretation, there is no such thing as "legal"  alteration:  the fielder's play 
was altered, therefore it was 
illegally altered - 
res ipsa loquitur.  Unless, of course, R slides on the ground and in a direct line to, but not past, the base.  Starting to sound an awful lot like a Forced-Slide Play Rule, now.