Thread: Play 8.2-11
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 10, 2005, 09:17am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
The key to the ruling is the first sentence,
Quote:
On ball four, the ball is dead.
This means (as they say in the ruling) the BR is not out for merely entering DBT. However, the BR is still obligated to touch 1B. The appeal is a dead ball appeal of a missed base.
Quote:
Can he go to 1B after entering the dead ball area?
Yes. Remember, the ball is dead - "No penalty" means what it says. Same ruling, BTW, in FP with a HBP.
Quote:
Also, if this is not the end of the game, what do you do?
That's an interesting question. I would repeat, "That was ball four" loudly enough for coaches, etc., to hear.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote