Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Ump Welsch
Snake~eyes,
By your logic, both A1 and B1 would have to be called for OOB, because A1 is still OOB throwing in. If you call A1 for OOB because B1 contacts the ball on the "fake" in-bounds, then both are touching, therefore it would be OOB on both players.
|
No.
Read 7-1-1 and 2, again.
This play is not a T, because it does not fit the spirit or intent of the rule.
It can not be OOB on both players, because it does not fit the criteria for causing the ball to go out of bounds, 7-1-2 and 7-3-1.
If the ball was not released by A1, or dislodged by B1 the throw-in has not ended, so it can not be OOB on A1.
The common sense judgment would be held ball. The fact that B1's hand stayed on the ball when A1 pulled the ball back, is close enough for me to call this a held ball. The play has elements of both 4-25-1 and 2, even though it does not exactly falling under either.