View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2005, 09:06am
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally posted by IREFU2
It is illegal if the player "alights" from the back court catching the ball while in the air, before landing in the front court. The player status is where he left from until he lands where he is going.
I'm not quite sure what you're saying here, but something is wrong.

1) "Alight" means to land. I'm not sure how a player "lands from the backcourt."

2) If the player leaves the floor from the BC and catches the ball thrown from the BC, then lands in the FC, it's a legal play.

To Ege31 -- In the original play, note that the exception in the BC rule (an airborne player may catch the ball and land in the BC) applies only to a THROW IN, not to a pass from the BC. As described, the play is a violation.

Reply With Quote