Quote:
Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:
Originally posted by pollywolly60
I've also been taught at clinics that the colored portion of the double base "disappears" once the batter-runner becomes a runner.
|
This is correct. Show me any rule - any one at all - where the orange base applies to a runner. It ONLY applies to a BR. It doesn't even apply to a BR who has overrun 1st and is returning. It only exists while the BR is between home and 1st.
It's a classic trick question - trying to divert your attention to the orange base rule when it does not even apply.
|
I disagree, nothing tricky about it. The question forces the umpire to know that the defense cannot use the colored bag in lieu of the white base when playing on a runner.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
|