Quote:
Originally posted by vawils
On a two shot foul, doesn't the defense still have to occupy the first two lane spaces on the first shot? The rule book says the spaces "shall be occupied" and I don't see any distinction for the first shot of a two shot foul. My partner allowed the defensive coach to call his whole team over for a quick huddle on two different occasions. We discussed it after the game and I got out the rule book and we agreed we didn't think they can do that even on a two shot foul. It may not make sense but the rule book says they "shall be occupied". Is this the correct interpretation?? Thanks.
|
If the throws are after a time-out or intermission (quarter break), it's legal under the resuming play procedure. If that first shot is missed, the shooter gets a replacement shot. From then on, the bottom spaces must bne occupied.
If it's not after a time-out or intermission, it's a technical foul for delay of game. No warning required.